books · goals · literature · reading

The joy of reading books

Effortless. Flawless. Perfect.

That’s what she wanted to be. That’s how she saw herself when she walked the halls of this place. People loved her here. They thought she was royalty. They had no idea.

In a place where few people understand one another, the silent author finds solace in knowing that she will always be revered in the library. Readers will always have your back.

***

There’s a thing about books that makes me want to keep reading them. I’ve read so many books and I still have so many that I want to read. There are so many books that I think I would like then start reading and decide I do not. The way that libraries makes me feel is happy. The way that libraries remind me that it is ok to enjoy books is a real joy no doubt.

Watching children read in a children’s section is rare these days, because of the computers in there. Which have reading games on them, so I’m not that mad. Reading is always a new learning experience. Usually, it reminds me why I think so complexly in the first place. Why I refuse to stop reading no matter how busy I get. I’ve done some audiobooks and some are good, especially when read by the author while others are not. There is something about books that is hard to define. That is hard to describe. I wish that I could find greater words but if you are reading this with glee then books are part of your life.

 

8hy8fkkfcrux2
gif source (blog post)

Unfortunately, I haven’t read as much as I would like lately. This year even. I could make more excuses about how I was doing something else, but the truth is I usually am not. As much as I love reading, I also love a good story. Sometimes it just so happens that those stories are in the form of tv shows. So obviously I have to watch the show for the sake of good stories, then right? Of course. This is how it goes then.

 

I love good stories and books that captivate me more that I do movies that are based on them. Take Divergent, for example. The Hunger Games. I will indulge in the movies, but reading the book for the first time will always hold a special place for me. Reading about a character that died breaks your heart, but you read on with a heavy heart to find someone else dead. It’s terror and you want to throw the book across the room. Sometimes you do. When characters fall in love or out of love you are wracked with how it will turn out because it matters. How they fare will distract you from the truth. The truth is that great books are not romantic, some are but they remind you of real life too. The movies do all the fluffy romance that doesn’t give you the same satisfaction. Books will always win in that regard.

 

pdwtbxc1hwlrk
gif source (original deleted)

 

So yeah. Read book. Read in general. You say you do, but you probably don’t. So thanks for starting that goal on the right foot and reading this stellar post.

(featured image source)

Leave a Reply

