writing

To write or wander

It’s that time of year again. When a challenge is put out to write a novel in a month and readers, fangirls and fanboys love to take part. There is also of course the aspiring writer or literature enthusiast that loves to try it. It’s something to try it, but if you are writing a novel this month don’t feel too discouraged. Remember that there is plenty of advice and writing circles to join probably near you so you don’t have to be so alone in the writing process. Because if there’s one thing I know: Writing is lonely.

Depending on experience (or no experience) with what you’re writing about, you’re mostly alone in the effort. There is no way around this fact. Sure, there are plenty of coaches that are authors and feel your pain that you reach out to. Most importantly, the networking is there you just have to respond to that email instead of ignoring it. If you’re writing this month, take advantage of the resources. I don’t always though.

Because this year, I can’t seem to get into the writing mood. I could go write outside in the air, but then I just want to go for a walk instead. Let me paint you a picture:

The air is cold on my face and the breeze is not too cool and not too hot. Temperate. I walk by kids throwing a plastic water bottle (filled) against the side of a building as the water sloshes onto the sidewalk. I pass by probably their mother sitting nearby reading a book. I keep walking on, then turner the corner towards my car. I don’t really mind this weather. There are leaves blowing, but not that many to annoy me. There are some that still need to be crunched and I do so happily. I like writing, but I don’t like November. I don’t like sitting inside and forcing myself to write instead of walking outside.

But, I’m still sort of doing it. Because I am a writer. Steadfastly, but I am. I will persist regardless of how hard.

Best advice: Write where there is light.

Leave a Reply

