personal

Read this, put down that.

We don’t all read. You might be reading this but you probably are just skimming it too. It’s ok, it takes time to read. I have to put it on my list of things to do sometimes (most days) because I am reading a good book and have books I need to get to so I need to make time to read. Gone are the days of reading before bed (well, not as often anymore) because Netflix exists and why would anyone bother with reading? The thought! So, I make time and I read when I remember to in bed but I have to remind myself to put away the phone first.

That’s where the problem starts thought right? We love our phones. We love to know everything that is happening. When we don’t, we’re just scrolling endlessly finding a reason to stay online (we know you finished your work hours ago, what are you doing?) Some have FOMO (Fear of Missing Out). I don’t have this because I don’t want to do what everyone else is doing (says a girl that got a popular game on her phone because everyone else is playing it too) but I do my best to do my own thing. That being sad I could never be one of those early morning new anchors waking up before the crack of dawn. But every job becomes a lifestyle as well.

Back to people and wanting to know things. We want to know, but we don’t always teach those that don’t know. It’s like a poor way of calling someone out who doesn’t understand your way of life. Help people who are lost understand. Help someone that want to know more, by giving them the options to know more. There’s no way to know if you’re failing someone greater than if you’re not trying at all.

I’m sure you’re doing fine. The worst you could do is be a librarian who doesn’t even read or doesn’t read nearly enough.

l0hlajn9zsjdhbjyu
gif source derivation

 

(cover image source)

Leave a Reply

