fitness · health

I Don’t Love Fitspo

I was going to make this post a book post (what I’m reading and so forth) but I don’t have the pictures taken that I want to use so another time. I do have a book blog though, so feel free to check that out if you’re into books and reading and all that jazz. See, this post is about trends. Trends don’t exist without social media, that’s just a fact, but let me say that the biggest “trend” that people are jumping onto is health and fitness. Hashtags like fitspo, healthsp, fitspiration can be inspiring depending on the words and if done correctly, can change a person’s life.

Now, sometimes for the right and wrong reasons. I recently read an article about a personal trainer who posted two different selfies to Instagram. Both were taken mere minutes apart but it looks like one of those #TransformationTuesday photos. The point? Work with what you’ve got and don’t believe what you see at face value. We’re too quick to judge based on a photo, which doesn’t always tell the whole picture.

http://giphy.com/gifs/fitness-workout-fitspo-uIi3OfCJmoTBK (from Tumblr, original source unknown).

But, don’t stop working out. Keep toning, keep stretching, keep smiling and keep eating healthy. Whatever reminds you to keep at it in a healthy way, that does not harm you. Fortunately, the terrible trend of thinspo was one that most  people picked up on as bad advice and complimentary to an eating disorder. If you were to go to Tumblr and search thinspo in the tags, you would be met with the following message: https://www.tumblr.com/psa/search/thinspo 

The same thing happens when searching for other disorders and illnesses, in an effort to create a more open and accepting community that is able to help everyone.

Personally? I hate do not love the fitspo/fitspiration trends. Search it and tell me how many you think are models or are part of an advertisement for something else (likely a health or fitness company). Sure, I like quotes. I like pictures of food, smoothies, and recipes but I don’t love fitspo. It just tires me. It’s like on New Year’s when everyone has those resolutions, but most people are cutting down on their resolutions or giving into temptations by February (Feb. 14, to be exact because it is one of the four chocolate holidays. Post idea!). For those on Tumblr and Instagram (and I suppose Pinterest, too) it’s just reblogs and regrams. Is anyone actually working out here? Ok, ok some of you might be. But do I care about the latte you had after? Sociality Barbie shout out because I’m getting random now.

http://giphy.com/gifs/fitness-workout-fitspo-CXEUN3uklAZdS (via Tumblr, original source unknown).

Hello, internet are you there? It’s me, the girl that listens to podcasts while writing blogs, works out everyday (not intense), reads actual books, and does her best to still watch her Netflix because she is paying for it after all. Until next time then.

Original source: http://miscgifs.tumblr.com/post/4544881521/shrug-gifs-disney-gifs
Leave a Reply

