life

The Ruminating Hat

(something different than thinking cap, no?)

I think I’ll sign up for this. Then maybe this. Then perhaps this as well. Are the thoughts currently fighting for space in my brain. I’m not in school and I don’t really wish to be, but I’m not working either. So, you see the free time can drive a person mad. The time spent trying to figure out what to do and the time spent actually doing something amount to a very long day indeed.

I feel like all my posts are like this though. Whatever, that’s what I do though. Spill the problems or sort of problems onto a blog that people can read because why ever not? Writer are weird that way I guess.

I just finished reading Tuesdays with Morrie and I don’t really talk about the books I read on here, but this one is worth mentioning. A man trying to find meaning in his own life, befriends his old college professor and realizes things he never would have before. It’s charming, heartfelt and so moving. It’s a fairly short read, but it took me a couple days to read (sometimes I try to read in one sitting, then look at the time and remember other things I need to do. The irony being that this book is about life that we all seem to rush about in anyway. Ah, well we’re all human anyway). So, that’s a book I’ve been meaning to read for quite a while and I’m so glad I finally got the chance to. I’ve never had a connection like Morrie and Mitch had with any one person and I wish that I could have had the pleasure to be one of the many that Morrie Schwartz met in his long life.

It’s good to read a thoughtful book after reading a pretty lame one, which is the case with the book I read before this one. It was a dystopian princess book with a pretty cover and if you know the series then comment below or keep it to yourself.

I also reached the end of my Vegan Challenge (aka not really a challenge but a thing I sorta tried to do).

Finished the challenge.
Finished the challenge.

It wasn’t wholly vegan, mostly because there were a few days when I found myself eating pasta (like macaroni which is made with milk and no not the god-awful Kraft kind but the home-made variety thank you very much). Sidenote: I never got why so many people were so angry about Kraft deciding to change the golden color of the macaroni, I guess I never ate it when I was younger and now I eat healthy so naturally that stuff is just gross. For the challenge, I found some cheese that is dairy free and used rice milk (ran out over a week ago and didn’t bother to buy anymore though). It was fruits most of the time though. And a good way to get that in is smoothies, which I love making anyway so no problem there.

It got me thinking as I prepare for summer now how we don’t always finish what we say we will. Sometimes we do, sometimes we don’t. Usually it’s a no because something else always gets in the way stopping us from getting to “that one thing.” You know what I mean, I’m sure that you do. there’s always something to be done somewhere. So, I could write a new goal for the next month, but I won’t. I’ll just take it day by day and see what happens next because life is short after all.

“Accept who you are and revel in it.”

-from Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Leave a Reply

