changes · family · goals · life · personal · self-actualization

Home is home (wherever that is for you)

Maybe we limit ourselves. Maybe we don’t think out of the box too much because we’re scared. There’s little doubt that these things and more are true. You, see a recent article in The New York Times Magazine on boomerang offspring, aka kids still living at home after the age of 23 reminded of how much a generation doesn’t force on itself because well..internet.

No, this is the reason I blame for a lot of things. Unless you’re able to restrict your internet time and put it to good use every day, chances are you have wasted time online at one time or another if not every day (but not right now, because this is a great post amirite? ;).

Anyway, I can relate with this theory and idea that millennials do not really have it easy. Some might say that they don’t try so much, with others calling them “the me, me, me generation” or making lists of how millennials are ruining certain industries or careers. There’s a lot out there. You either agree or disagree. Sometimes there is a middle ground, where people are like “but that’s not everyone!” Is it? You begin to lose hope and feel diminished (adding to greater misery) by reading and coming across articles that pull a certain group of the population down. I’ll admit that I fall into the group that doesn’t really know how her life is going to pan out and yes that does bother me. In fact, it freaks me out sometimes. I don’t have a plan, but I’m not “winging it” either. I have the guidance and support of my family to be able to lean back on. Of course, I don’t want to lean on my parents for the rest of my life which is why I made a conscience decision to move out of state into a much larger city. Jumping headfirst into uncharted territory, knowing chances aren’t going to come along unless I go for them myself.

Not everyone can do this though. I understand that. I’m going to be real here and say that I could move faraway, but I’ll probably always come back to my parents wherever they are. Because it’s good to have something to come back to. You’re not a failure. I’m saying this while remembering countless times where I pretty much cried myself to sleep thinking sad thoughts like this. It’s hard to get past and in many ways, I’m still in that place. I know that many are not going to leave what they know.Β  Because comfort sinks you like an anchor.

Moving away from me though, here is what some Twitter users had to say about that article and millennials in general:

via Reaction GIFS

Yeah, I don’t really know.

***

Know this though. Home is home. Do what you want, write want you want, and read what you want (hopefully you read, if not then you’re lying because you just read this). I’m one of those people that give advice, but doesn’t really follow it. What I’m trying to say is find your happy place. It’s probably not wallowing at home. I know it’s not. Being at home can get own on you, especially if your parents are not really the most supportive about it. Go outside. Ride a bike. Go for a walk. Go to the park. Get off the internet. It will give you something to do and this is probably what I’m about to do when I get done writing this.

Ok, this is getting kind of sad maybe. I hope wherever you’re reading this, its somewhere you know you are supported and loved. No one deserves to be a toxic environment. If you are in such a place, leave as fast as you can (if you can!)

***

I’m also not one to give hugs. No, really ask anyone that knows me. Hugs are not my thing. But, you made it to the end and you should know by now that someone out there thinks you’re awesome. Have an awesome day and smile! πŸ™‚

via Reaction Gifs
Leave a Reply

