goals · life · writing

Realistically Speaking

Technically, I’m going to school for journalism. But, whether I find a job I enjoy or eventually end up in there is another question. So, alright I will work towards an internship and a job in media. Preferably online media, but hopefully by then I will be able to also do some multimedia work. Who can tell, right? But, what about the other things I want to do?

via weheartit

I don’t really have a bucket list or anything like that. But, here’s the thing. I want to travel some more, so if by chance I get an internship somewhere far I might consider it just for the opportunity. In journalism, no opportunity can be thrown away. I have to think about it, too though. Because, yeah as much as we might say that we love challenges and taking risks and all that (which is cool) but let’s face it we all have limits. I can definitely attest to that.

But I’m trying. I started an application for Teach for America last year but never completed it and well, it’s not going to happen (at least not this year). I think I want to do some more things before I venture out that way. But, not only that I also thought about applying to Teach English as a Foreign Language abroad. I’ve known some people that have done it with positive experiences, save where they might live, but I’m not really a big complainer in that respect. Again, it all depends what I can take.

Every now and then, I’m volunteering with events for the Girl Scouts. It would be a good idea to also get involved with the Boys and Girls Club. I’m not saying I’m trying to be a mentor or anything (I don’t feel like I have anything to offer on that, quite yet) but working with kids is great. Speaking of mentors, I’m currently reading Sheryl Sandberg’s book Lean In. She mentions in one chapter, that so many people have come up to her after a talk or lecture to ask her to be their mentor. To which, she has to say something like no mostly because that’s not how it works. You don’t need to ask someone to be your mentor, work with them and over time THEY will decide if they want to continue working with you and see where you’re going. I don’t think we all need mentors, but they are helpful as guides. The decisions we make should be our own.

via weheartit

I also am into healthy living and eating clean. I think we try to care more about ourselves as we grow older. It’s maybe just how it is, but it also makes me happy. I want to teach maybe pilates or yoga. Or get certified in teaching Classical Stretch, which is probably my favorite workout of all time. Then, I’ve recently got into Zumba so I want to take a class in that. I want to get into vlogging. I want to tell people that its ok to dance sometimes, because life is short. I want to tell students that I feel their pain, but only if they’re studying otherwise its their own fault. Sorry, I’m being real though. No, really I just want to have fun but also have a job and realize that stress does nothing.

via weheartit

But, I’m a writer first and foremost. So, realistically I’ll probably just be doing that for like ever. Hopefully, I find that one person someday because being forever alone is kind of one of my great fears as well.

Stay happy and think realistically of what YOU want!

Leave a Reply

