journalism · life · media · personal

Your past can’t always define you (but it is part of you)

Yet again I sit down at my laptop to write another blog post. What this time? I don’t know, but I don’t really know much of anything these days so most of these posts have a relatively common theme. In the past week, I’ve laughed, smiled, felt sad, read some books, and pondered some things. So, really nothing from the usual. But, sometimes when you need to pick yourself up you look to the internet. Or family. Or something that reminds you that really you are not alone.

So, I could say that at the start of every week I hope things get better. It’s probably better to do something about it, rather than sit around hoping for change. I’m not that good at putting thought into action. I mean today was Martin Luther King, Jr. day and yet again it was spent not doing anything. I feel like I should be doing something though. We all remember, but do we really remember him. Anyway, I could go on about that. But, that’s not what this is about.

Rather it’s again about the news. It’s meant to be consumed. Maybe when we don’t have any news, we don’t know what to do with ourselves but then again maybe we do. There are gifs, puppies and kittens, plus all the cute babies just waiting to steal some of your productivity anywhere you go online.

So, right now I’m going to share a few (like three) Buzzfeed videos that I can relate to. Because they’re funny, relatable, and why the heck not.

Yeah, does that about sum it up? I do live at home, but for me it’s not as bad as you would think (I don’t have any friends, if we’re being real and no one wants to live alone–I did for awhile it did nothing for me). Also, I left Facebook for those same reasons as pathetic as that may be. Sometimes, I know that my life right now is just a series of mistakes that I made somewhere and I’m just waiting to look up and for it to be all over.

This is just everyday and kind of relatable, but kind of not really at all.

I was an English major and don’t advise anyone to be one. That being said, I don’t regret it either. Unlike some people, I don’t hate writing papers or reading long stories. I don’t really think like this guy, but I think many have larger than life goals. The most common question I used to get (and on rare occasions still do get) is “what are you going to do with that?” The most common thing people said was a teacher or writer, sometimes like me it was journalism.

So, this post has taken way too long to get through (I got distracted with some other videos, whoops). But, mainly I’m still going to keep trying. We all know who we are and we may not know what we want, but we’re all unique and weird in our own way.

I guess I’ll just be myself, that’s the way it should be anyway.

Leave a Reply

